Mor Kali

Sometimes, when a familiar (and yet, in some paradoxical way, almost obsolete in my memories) tune from the ‘Golden Age of Tamil Cinema’-the 50’s to the 70’s, perhaps; flits by, I can almost quite see her. Mum, that is, humming in her clear voice, while working magical wonders in the kitchen; just as she used to for as long as I can remember.

Illness took her a little over a year ago, and I can no longer twirl around in her kitchen, heady with all the aromas , in tune to her humming and then collapse into giggles with her, but the moments we shared there I shall hold dear to me for life.

Mum was an ace in the kitchen. She was versatile, remarkably efficient and never let anything go to waste. But above all that, perhaps, was her skill for preparing anything from a snack to a banquet in minutes; even with the minimum of ingredients should she ever find herself short of supply; all delectable and immensely satisfying.

We shared a love for all sorts of spices, and the fiery ones in particular. We both had an almost abnormal tolerance for the heat of chilies, and at times, even find Mor Milagai (green chilies marinated in yogurt and sun-dried), while it is still marinating, a nice little nibble. Neither of us was too fussy about how elaborate our meals needed to be, and I was more than happy with the simple snacks she’d serve me on my return from school.

One such was Mor Kali. One of the simplest dishes around, it was my favorite snack and a common enough filler for those odd hours when hunger pangs gnaw but it is still too early for a full meal.

Technically speaking, it is a dense Upma of sorts; savory and warm. The best part of it, however, isn’t just the salty and sharp smokiness of the sauteed Mor Milagai, but the Kandhal, or the bottom portion that’s adequately burnt to a crisp golden brown, as well.

The other day, after looking through some old snapshots, and reminiscing upon Mum and her culinary proclivities, I got up to go figure out what to make for a quick lunch when the memory of this gem of a dish came flooding in. I couldn’t believe I had almost forgotten all about it.

The recipe is simple and fast enough to not sweat over, and what better way to think of Mum at her best, than emulating her genius in my own little kitchen? She would be so proud:

Mor Kali

Serves 2

2 c Rice flour
2 c Plain Yogurt/Buttermilk
Water
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp mustard seeds
1/4 tsp cumin seeds
a pinch of Asafoetida
1/4 tsp bengal gram seeds
5 pieces of mor milagai/3 dried red chilies
2 tsp oil

Mix the rice flour, buttermilk and water with salt into a thin but not very watery batter. Then in a kadai (preferably non-stick), temper the mustard, cumin and bengal gram seeds in oil.Add the asafoetida and cook for 2 mins. Now add mor milagais/red chillies and saute for 3 mins. Pour the batter onto the kadai. Stir continuously, while it’s being cooked. Continue to cook, covered, for 2-3 minutes. Let a golden brown kandhal form, and remove from heat.

 

Categories: Cooking, Food, San Francisco, South Indian | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Mor Kali

  1. A touching post and a tempting recipe. I’ve been dreaming about my mom quite often lately. She passed from our world nearly a year ago this June. She cooked very different dishes than I, but truly she was my inspiration.

  2. Oh wow… your morkali looks gorgeous. I’m going to have to try it out, I can see that…

    The best morkali I’ve ever had was at my friend’s house – her grandma was a divine cook. Oddly enough, this dish was not made at our house at all… not by my mom and not by any member of my extended family. Apparently it’s an Iyengar speciality. Me, all I care is that it tastes good. I have no use for religious distinctions in family or food! :D

  3. inkinmyveins

    Lisa,

    Thank you for your kind words. Please accept my condolences on your loss. There’s something to be said about mothers’ prowess in the kitchen, isn’t there..? One look at your beautiful and inspiring blog, however, it is obvious that you emulate yours in such unique, fascinating ways.

    Shyam,

    It’s a bit funny that communities in the same region, with supposedly the same backgrounds and lifestyles would have marked differences in their cuisines, isn’t it? Perhaps I make it seem simpler than it is, but when it comes to food, just as you say, all that matters is how good something tastes-or not. :)
    Your comment reminded me of another lovable trait of Mum’s-her tendency to not exclude anyone or anything on basis of these religious distinctions. I say this in particular because she was miles ahead of her ‘elite’ counterparts, not even having gone to graduate school. I loved her philosophy of ‘Sarvam Brahmamayam'; especially in the kitchen, where the distinctions between ‘Smartha’ or ‘Iyengar’ or whatever else were blurred.

  4. Hi I was led here from Lisa’s kitchen and this is my first visit to your blog,you have a very nice one.This is a very touching post,please accept my condolences on your loss.I identify with your feelings as I myself lost my mother when I was just sixteen and she was and continues to be my inspiration on all things food and non food related:)
    I make a variation of this dish with rava called mor upma that I learnt from my mother in law
    All the best Bye

  5. inkinmyveins

    Hi Usha,

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such a warm and inspiring comment! It’s amazing how much of our lives our mothers tend to touch even when they can’t be with us physically, isn’t it?!
    You have a very creative and inspiring blog yourself; I look forward to being a regular visitor there! Mor Upma sounds equally fascinating; and even better, healthier! I shall be sue to try it out.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

